The update brings lot of buzz and forced many users to switch to other alternate messaging apps such as Signal and Telegram.
WhatsApp had clarified that users will not lose their accounts even if they don’t accept the policy but now reports have stated that the users will lose access to some important features if they don’t accept the policy.
“For the last several weeks we’ve displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent”, the company has updated in its FAQ page.
Users will lose these functions:-
The Company will stop you from accessing your chat list. However, it would let you answer incoming calls or video calls if you have notifications enabled.
You can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call. Things would change after a few weeks if you still don’t accept the new policies.
WhatsApp account is absolutely useless if you cannot call or send messages to your contact list.
Users will get the policy pop-up on the app home screen.